SMTP setup - mails are not being sent

Keywords: LimeSurvey - Google Cloud Platform - Technical issue - Email configuration (SMTP)
bnsupport ID: 0444131a-ff06-3094-d8e0-3c2fba3f1571
Description:
Hi,
I am completely new to Bitnami and Limesurvey - I am trying to setup the SMTP config for my Limesurvey instance.

I followed the bitnami docs

https://docs.bitnami.com/google/apps/limesurvey/configuration/configure-smtp/

And set the config file up with credentials for my Mailgun account - but no mails are sent when a survey is completed (which I expect since I put in my email address in the notification fields in the Limesurvey UI):

// Email Settings
// These settings determine how LimeSurvey will send emails
$config = array();
$config['siteadminemail'] = 'survey@mydomain.dk'; // The default email address of the site administrator
$config['siteadminbounce'] = 'survey@mydomain.dk'; // The default email address used for error notification of sent messages for the site administrator (Return-Path)
$config['siteadminname'] = 'My name'; // The name of the site administrator

$config['emailmethod']        = 'smtp'; // The following values can be used:
$config['protocol'] = $config['emailmethod'];
// mail      -  use internal PHP Mailer
// sendmail  -  use Sendmail Mailer
// smtp      -  use SMTP relaying

$config['emailsmtphost']      = 'smtp.eu.mailgun.org:587'; // Sets the SMTP host. You can also specify a different port than 25 by using
// this format: [hostname:port] (e.g. 'smtp1.example.com:25').

$config['emailsmtpuser']      = 'postmaster@mg.mydomain.dk'; // SMTP authorisation username - only set this if your server requires authorization - if you set it you HAVE to set a password t$
$config['emailsmtppassword']  = 'mypass'; // SMTP authorisation password - empty password is not allowed
$config['emailsmtpssl']       = 'tls'; // Set this to 'ssl' or 'tls' to use SSL/TLS for SMTP connection