Postgres replication server in GCP out of sync

Keywords: PostgreSQL - Google Cloud Platform - Technical issue - Other
bnsupport ID: d82a3970-0a9b-b004-13c8-0a27eb980c76
Description:
Hello,

I’ve inherited a production and test environment that both have broken replication, unsure of what steps I can take to remedy this.

I didn’t initially set up the servers, but I believe we’re using out-of-the-box
PostgreSQL with Replication from GCP, though it looks like we’ve changed the configuration of the multi-tiered solution so there is one master node and only one slave node instead of two (which I thought I read was the default?).

The issue is that probably months ago at this point the master and slave got out of sync and a WAL segment got deleted from the master that the slave needs. Ergo, logs are almost entirely:

requested WAL segment 000000010000000B00000085 has already been removed

I’m pretty new to working on the cloud and in node clusters. Is the only solution at this point to create a new slave? If so, how would I do that?

I believe that we’re using the default configuration and here’s some other info:

postgres=# SELECT version();
                                                 version                                     

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
------------
 PostgreSQL 10.7 on x86_64-pc-linux-gnu, compiled by gcc (Debian 6.3.0-18+deb9u1) 6.3.0 20170
516, 64-bit

Please note pg_stat_replication is currently empty when run on the master node:

postgres=# SELECT client_addr, state FROM pg_stat_replication;
 client_addr | state 
-------------+-------
(0 rows)

Hi @helpmeexitvim,

Could you confirm if you are using out-of-the-box and could you check you are running only two VM, you can check in that console of google?

Regards,
Ibone.

Ibone,