Error Uploading Videos to Moodle

Keywords: Moodle - Microsoft Azure - Technical issue - Other
Description:
When attempting to upload .mp4 videos to our Moodle instance on a VM in Azure (through the UI). We get the following error:

“The file you tried to upload is too large for the server to process.”

Other files with of the similar size upload OK. It seems to be any files over 82MB that fail with the above message.

We changed the disk size from 64GB to 128GB on the Azure machine to see if that would change it, however, it does the same thing.

I’m very new to these VMs and I don’t have Linux skills. Is there something I might have missed with changing the size of the disk? Or is there a limit on the size of the video’s that can be uploaded?

Any help in kind would be greatly appreciated.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks
Stephen

Hi @stephen.clark,

The following section from the Moodle docs shows how the file upload size can be changed:

https://docs.moodle.org/310/en/File_upload_size#Modifying_the_php.ini_file

You can find the php.ini file in /opt/bitnami/php/etc/php.ini.

Can you check if that works? To edit the file you can either access through SSH or use SFTP.

Best regards,
Michiel

Hi Michiel,

Thanks for your reply. I really appreciate the assistance!

I’ve set the “post_max_size” to 300M, “upload_max_filesize” to 300M and max_execution_time to 600 as per the instructions, but it still shows 80MB in the Administration section. I ran the sudo apachectl restart command too.

The new values are still showing in the php file, so it has saved. In the admin portal it mentions “as well as the Apache setting LimitRequestBody.” I’m not sure how to change this as I can’t search for it in the php file. We do use SSL, but I don’t want to start changing things mentioned in the NGINX article in case I break the system completely. Aaargh!

Hi @stephen.clark,

How did you restart the services? For Bitnami you need to execute this command: