Copying files from one EC2 Instance to another

Keywords: LAMP/MAMP/WAMP - AWS - How to - Connectivity (SSH/FTP)

Description:
I have been using Bitnami stacks for well over 10 years, and I am pretty sure that in the past I’ve been able to use my existing EC2 PEM file to connect from one AWS instance to a newly created instance.

• Both instances use Bitnami LAMP stacks
  • Both use exactly the same EC2 security group
  • The security group has both instance Elastic IP addresses enabled for SSH
  • Both instances were created to use the same PEM file.

I can log into each EC2 instance independently using 2 different PuTTY windows. But when I try to log in from one EC2 instance to the other using the PEM for each, the connection times out. I’ve read the 2 doc pages referenced, plus I’ve searched the internet and found no definitive solution.

How do I log in from one EC2 instance to another based on the parameters above?

Hi @Toolie,

If both instances use the same SSH key, you need to forward the agent when connecting to one instance to be able to connect to the second one

https://documentation.help/PuTTY/pageant-forward.html

If you enable the agent forwarding, you should get a list of available keys when running this command in one of the instances

ssh-add -l

If you get a valid output, you should be able to access the second instance using

ssh bitnami@IP

If the connection times out, that means that there is a connection error (not related to the SSH keys). Please ensure port 22 is accessible by the different instances in the security group.

Hi Jota, thank you for your responses. I have set up Pageant to run on my local machine (first time having to do that). I was able to add the key but it made no difference. Here’s a verbose output with and without the key:

As for the security group opened ports, I have mentioned that both instances are already in the security group. Here is a screen grab:

ports-opened-in-security-group